The BEST chocolate chip cookies!

I found this recipe on Becky Higgins’ blog and I knew I had to try them. I had been making the recipes on the back of the chocolate chips bag because I lost my old recipe. This one looked intriguing because of the 3 cups of flour and the shortening, which my old recipe used. I have to tell you that this is the BEST recipe I have ever tried!! I love the texture and the chewiness – they are perfect! Remember to use real butter, though, because it makes a difference!

Here is the recipe word for word from Becky’s blog:

MOM’S CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

2/3 c. shortening
2/3 c. butter (not margarine)
1 c. granulated sugar
1 c. brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
2 tsp. vanilla
3 c. flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 c. chopped nuts
12 oz. semi-sweet chocolate chips

Mix thoroughly first 6 ingredients. Stir in remaining ingredients. Drop on ungreased baking stone. Bake 8 to 10 minutes at 375 degrees. This is a single recipe which makes about 7 dozen. Mom always makes a double batch.

Leave a Reply

