Gratitude Journal – Day 4 – My Mom….

Today I am grateful for my mom. She is everything to me and always has been. I cannot remember her ever being selfish or rude. She always thinks of others and performs service everyday. She has been a temple worker since I was in high school and just retired. She worked in the Los Angeles temple every Thursday and Friday until the San Diego temple was completed and worked there every Wednesday since it has been opened. She is a survivor like no one else I know. She has borne 6 children, and has some pretty hard pregnancies and births. She was a foster mom to many kids,  including Carlos, who is still a very big part of our family. She has survived many illnesses, including 2 bouts of breast cancer and is still here with us. She is very talented and makes home made quilts, and she used to make all my clothes. When I was in high school, we would pick out patterns and fabric and then we would customize the pattern and I had a very unique wardrobe. Kids in high school used to ask me if I was a model because I had the coolest clothes! She is a very good cook and baker and she even made my wedding cake! In fact, I can’t think of anything she can’t do, except she does not like computers. So, even though she might never see this, I want the world to know how grateful I am for my mom. She was always there for me, especially when I needed her the most while raising my twins alone. I could never have done it without her. Now, we get to pay her back by helping her spend the rest of her  life surrounded by the most loving people in her life. It’s the least we can do for her. I love you, mom.

Leave a Reply

