Gratitude Journal – Day 11 – Freedom…

Today is Veterans Day and I am so very grateful for my freedoms. The biggest freedom I enjoy is political freedom – our democracy and the freedom to choose our leaders. There have been numerous uprisings around the world lately and the people of those countries have finally spoken… just like the founders of our country did so many years ago. I am grateful for all those who have fought for our freedom both on foreign and domestic soil. I am grateful for their sacrifices and their devotion to make our world a better place. I enjoy many wonderful things because of these veterans. Freedom of speech, freedom of religion, and the rights we take for granted each and every day.

Seth driving a tank in South Korea

Today I am also grateful for my wonderful husband. He served in the USAF for 7 years active duty and for 14  years in the ANG and spent many weeks away from home each year. I remember how difficult is was for me when he was in Saudi Arabi for 2 months serving with his unit. I was miserable without him and realized at that time how fortunate we were. I was not a part of his life yet when he was active duty military and never had to deal with deployments or moving around the world. I had it easy and I knew it, and I was never going to let myself be miserable about him being gone again. I made up my mind that I would be 100% supportive of him as he was to his duty to our country.

I am so grateful to all who have given the ultimate sacrifice for my freedoms. I owe a so much to all who give unselfishly of their lives to honor our freedoms. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

