Gratitude Journal – Day 13 – Technology…

Today I am thankful for technology. I love living in this era of technological development and invention. Sometimes I just can’t fathom the advancement of our times – or the way we used to live without technology. My kids don’t realize that they have always had computers, video games, televisions, etc. and that their parents and grandparents did not have these things. I remember having rotary dial phones, plug in switchboards at my high school where I did phone duty every morning, transistor radios were our ipods, and you could not watch movies unless you went to the theater. Boy have times changed. Now, we have everything at our fingertips and more.

Not too long ago, there were no cell phones. I remember one Christmas eve night in 1983 when I would have loved to have a cell phone when my car broke down on the freeway at 10:00 pm. It was pouring rain and I was driving from Mission Valley to Santee on highway 8 going east. I was driving my brother Carlos’ car and it caught on fire. I was sitting on the side of the freeway with no power, the emergency lights would not come on and I was scared of being hit in the rain. So, I got out of the car in my white rabbit fur coat and stood in a 12″ deep river of water waiting for someone to stop. This was before there were call boxes on the freeway, too, so it was a major bummer! I stood there for almost an hour trying to flag someone down, but no one would stop. I prayed so hard and thought I would die there that night. Right when I was about to give up hope, a car pulled over and rolled the window down. It was a man with 2 sleeping boys in the back seat. He asked me if he could give me a ride and I was scared, but desperate to get home, so I said yes. He was really nice and I prayed that I could trust him and told him to just take me to a phone so I could call my dad. He said he was going near my neighborhood and so he took me all the way home. I know that angels were watching over me that night as I was safely taken to my home where my sweet dad was frantic and was just leaving to go look for me. This man would not accept any gas money for his time and trouble, but just drove home. I remember how scared I was that night and I would not want my daughters to ever have to go through that experience…. ever! So, today…. I am grateful for technology… and cell phones.

Leave a Reply

