Gratitude Journal – Day 18 – Good food…

Today I am grateful for good food that I can actually eat. My diet is very high in protein, very low in carbs, starches,  and sugars. That leaves little of the food I used to eat in my new diet. But, all the great foods that I can eat now are so amazing! One of my favorite foods to eat now, is one that I have always loved, and one that we make often at home – stuffed mushrooms. The last few times we made them, we stuffed them with crab, salmon, and other seafood mixtures. Tonight we stuffed them with my favorite – sausage. We make these often because we all love them so much, except for Brittany, but she was not home tonight, so we made them for dinner. I will give you my recipe so you can make them, too.

Joy’s Stuffed Mushrooms

1 pound large white mushrooms

1/2 pound italian style sausage

1 cup artichoke & jalapeno dip (Costco)

1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

Pull stems out of mushrooms. Place stems in food processor and process until very small crumbles. Cook sausage in frying pan and chop while cooking so it is in very small crumbles. Drain on paper towels. In mixing bowl, stir together chopped mushroom stems, cooled sausage, cheese, and dip. Stir until combined. Spoon into mushroom caps until heaping mounds. Place into 9×13 pan and sprinkle more Parmesan cheese on the tops. Bake at 450 for 15 minutes. You can substitute crab, shrimp or salmon for the sausage – they are all fabulous!

Leave a Reply

