Potato Casserole (or Funeral Potatoes…)

I looked for recipes online to make these potatoes, but they all called for frozen hash browns, and I had only whole fresh potatoes. So, I improvised, and played with the recipes I found until I thought I had what would work best for me. This is my results:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cube butter
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/34 cup heavy cream
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 10 oz can cream of chicken soup (or cream of celery)
  • 2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 6 potatoes shredded (or frozen hash brown package)
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2 1/2 cups crushed corn flakes

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Saute the onions in the butter for about 5 minutes, until soft.
  3. Remove from heat.
  4. Mix all remaining ingredients completely (except corn flakes and melted butter)
  5. Pour into a lightly greased 9x13in casserole dish or pan, set aside. Flatten mixture evenly.
  6. Add the melted butter to the crushed corn flakes stir to coat. Spread on top of the potatoes in an even layer.
  7. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until center is hot and bubbly.

Enjoy! My family looooovessss these!!!

 

Leave a Reply

